“Sometimes when I want to put myself in Adele’s shoes [she’s gay], I imagine an alternate universe in which Christians have chosen a different biblical condemnation upon which to fixate, such as women uncovering their heads or people getting tattoos. I imagine TV preachers claiming that 9/11 happened as a result of God’s wrath on the gossipers and the greedy, and churches raising funds to support an amendment to the constitution making remarriage illegal for people who are divorced. I imagine people carrying signs that say ‘God Hates Gluttons’ or ‘Stone Disobedient Children,’ and I think to myself, Boy, I’m glad we didn’t pick ‘lifestyle sins’ like materialism or judgementalism to obsess about, because if we had, I’d totally be screwed. That’s when I realized that if anyone’s an oxymoron, it’s me. Or maybe it’s anyone who claims to follow Jesus.”

-Rachel Held Evans in “Evolving in Monkey Town”

