So people are talking about Jodie Foster. Big deal and no surprise. I finally looked it up today to see exactly what caused all the talk. Here’s what I took away, and it has been seared into my brain and heart:

“Foster also paid tribute to her 84-year-old mother, who suffers from dementia. ‘Mom, I know you are inside those blue eyes somewhere,’ she said, ‘and that there are so many things that you won’t understand tonight, but this is the only important one to take in: I love you, I love you, I love you. And I hope that if I say this three times, it will magically and perfectly enter into your soul, fill you with grace and the joy of knowing that you did good in this life, you’re a great mom. Please take that with you when you’re finally okay to go.'”

Beautiful, sweet, sad, loving, and memorable.

